The comments of our guests on TripAdvisor are genuine and are not influenced or written by us.

27
May 15

Reviewed 27 May 2015

It was great to stay with Trevor and June for a week from March 30 till April 6. Trevor was always interested in our plans en helped us for instance with the tickets for a visit of the Tafelberg. That saved us one hour waiting time! They arranged a shuttle from and to the airport. If we needed a reservation for a restaurant, suggestions for trips, they were very helpfull.

Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple

14
Apr 15

Reviewed 14 April 2015

I love it when things turn out as planned. Judging by the reviews on this B&B, we had high expectations, and i'm happy to say that we certainly weren't disappointed. Trevor and June are the quintessential B&B hosts, and it's hard to imagine how we could have enjoyed our stay more than we did.

The GREAT: Well....everything. Spotlessly clean rooms, spectacular views from all windows; a breakfast that was so satisfying, on most days, we didn't need to eat more that a light snack for lunch. Trevor and June are great, and we particularily enjoyed their tips on what to do and their sense of humor. Even when my car had an "altercation" with the gate to the carpark one night, Trevor wasn't worried at all, and mostly seemed concerned that we may miss our dinner reservation. Of ourse I never heard the end of it, but I suppose I deserved all the barbs.

The GOOD-Almost GREAT: the only thing in this category would be the location, which was PERFECT for us as a family not looking for busy nightlife. It took about 30 min to get to Cape Town proper, and othewise was in a location where getting to the main sites of the Cape was very easy . I suppose if you're looking for a busy spot and the ability to walk to restaurants and pubs, you may want something in a different place, closer to town. But again, for us this location was perfect, I just thought I'd mention it so as to not steer any late-night partiers astray.

The BAD: The only bad thing was that our trip had to end. We really enjoyed our stay in Cape Town, and i know we'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good, we had one of the small suites, on the second floor. Fine for my wife and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
06
Apr 15

Reviewed 6 April 2015 

We stayed 2 nights end of March before the closing.
Room is very clean and comfortable. View is fantastic on the bay. We had the nice room on the first floor with a separate entrance. The decoration is subtile and we feel like home.
Breakfast is good : full of choices, with some white eggs on my husband special request. The trick with the plastic bottle : thanks Trevor.
June and Trevor are very nice and helpful. They gave us some nice spots for dinner, as the Hout Bay indoor market, the look out. Absolutely worth the visit.
From there we could go to Cape Point on a scenery view by Chapman's Peak.
So many things to visit that we didn't have much time to appreciate more the accommodation.
Lovely time for resting and sunny holiday.
Great stay. Thanks.

Le guest house est vraiment sympathique.
Les chambres sont propres et cosy. Pas de chichi, juste ce qu il faut.
La vue est magnifique sur la baie. On ne s'en lasse pas du matin au soir. La petite piscine permet de se détendre en fin de journée.
June et Trevor sont deux hôtes amicaux et qui aiment ce qu'ils font.
Le petit déjeuner maison est copieux.
Beaucoup de conseils intéressants pour des restos.
De cet endroit, il y a un parcours magnifique jusqu à Cape Point via la Chapman's Peak.
Bref bon rapport qualité prix. C'est même mieux que les hôtels du coin.
Comme il y a plein de choses à visiter, nous n'avions pas eu le temps de profiter plus de la chambre !

 

Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple
26
Mar 15

Reviewed 26 March 2015

Trevor and June were very welcoming and gave us lots of information about visiting the Cape peninsular, Cape Town, Robben Island, and Table Mountain. The visit information was invaluable because arriving at the 'wrong' time can mean very long queues.
our room was excellent. We were on trhe top floor and the room had a small lounge as well as an excellent bathroom and bed room.
Breakfasts were very good and sitting by the pool for breakfast was a refreshing way to start the day.
The location is within about 20 minutes walk of the beach and shops. It is a fairly hilly walk. On Sundays there is a good Round Table sponsored market close by.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: The upper floor front rooms best (but no lift)
See more room tips

Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple

17
Mar 15


Reviewed 17 March 201

We had two nights at Amblewood at the start of our holiday in South Africa. Our hosts were wonderful and very hospitable. Our room was incredibly spacious with lovely views across Hout Bay. Breakfast was delicious and served on the deck. Trevor helped us out with restaurant accommodations at the last minute which was very much appreciated. We would definitely visit again. Thank you!

Page 1 of 22

AMBLEWOOD Guest House, is rated 5-star on TripAdvisor and 9.4 on Booking.com

Book Online

use this secure link to book accommodation.

Print Directions

from airport to Amblewood accommodation.

 

Wireless Internet

free internet access with your accommodation.